MCSE: Data Platform ... then ... MCSA: SQL Server 2012 ... Permutations ... Is Order Important ... lol

  • Happy Summer everyone :-)

    First ... I was wondering what the rules are with doing the exams in the following order ... 465, 464, .... then 463, 462, 461.  Is it mandatory to complete the MCSA requirements to get the MCSE certificaiton?  

    Second ... my last certifications were MCDBA SQL 2000 and MCSD .NET 300 series ... so ... does it make sense to use upgrade paths to SQL 2005 ... SQL 2008 ... then SQL 2012?

    Thanks in advance for the responses.

    And gotta love being a special case :-)

  • Hi,

    There is not set order that you must complete the exams in. As long as you complete all the exams (461, 462, 463, 464 and 465)  you will gain the MCSE certification.

    Unfortunately there is no longer an upgrade path available from SQL Server 2000 or 2005 therefore you will need to do all the exams stated above to gain MCSE.

    Jeff Wharton
    MSysDev (C.Sturt), MDbDsgnMgt (C.Sturt), MCT, MCPD, MCSD, MCSA, MCITP, MCDBA